UKC

Family holiday destinations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 NorthernGrit 22 Mar 2023

Looking for destination ideas for family with 9 and 12 year old children. Ideal criteria are:

Somewhere with stuff to do. Activities etc. MTB, watersports with ability to hire. Would not be taking any gear for cycling or climbing etc.

Reachable by train for most of journey (car hire and drive for last leg is fine)

Budget conscious. All included exclusive resorts are out.

Ideally not peak tourist areas but balanced with there being enough to do.

Been looking at French Alps, Ardeche, Pyrenees but having holidayed almost exclusively in UK since kids and not knowing the areas I'm not very good at this. Wondering whether others have any general or specific recommendations.

Thank you.

Godwin 22 Mar 2023
In reply to NorthernGrit:

We used enjoy the Loire Valley, not to long a journey into France, but far enough South for the weather to be bucking up.

Last family holiday was Annecy, and could go off for the day doing Via Ferrara.

Got a grandson now so may revisit these places.

OP NorthernGrit 22 Mar 2023
In reply to Godwin:

Not somewhere I’d considered so thank you.

Morzine is a good base, cable cars, buses etc means easy travel and loads of activities for all ages - lots free or cheap. We have been five times over the last 8 years

Toccata 23 Mar 2023

Millau/Gorges du Tarn/Dourbie was one of the best places I have holidayed with a family if you want inexpensive living in a beautiful area with friendly people. While it can't beat the alps for grandeur it is one of the most scenic areas I've been anywhere. Great biking (road and MTB), caving, via ferrata, climbing is excellent, some of the walking/scrambling is amazing, rafting/kayaking/swimming on the river. Perhaps misses a cultural hit (but then so does the alps) but very much on the revisit list for me.

Graeme G 23 Mar 2023