UKC

Any luck with climbing gear on whizz air.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 New Max 23 Jul 2023

I’m off to Milan and onward to Switzerland at the end of the week for some famous routes on the piz badile. 

I’ve booked a flight with Whizz air and managed to save circa £120 for the round trip by booking a piece of “sports equipment” instead of a conventional hold luggage. I’m planning on putting a rack and twin ropes with two harnesses and helmets in a duffel bag and carrying everything else in hand luggage. 

Has anyone had any difficulties with Whizz air or other airlines and this particular matter before? 

Howard J 24 Jul 2023
In reply to New Max:

I've no experience of this but I suspect you might run into difficulties, since climbing gear isn't listed as one of the items which can be transported as sports equipment. There seems a fair chance they will check, since a duffel bag won't look as if it contains permitted items.

https://wizzair.com/en-gb/information-and-services/travel-information/bagga...

The idea of the sports equipment allowance is to carry large and/or heavy items which otherwise wouldn't meet the criteria for hold luggage - skis, bikes, golf clubs etc.  Climbing gear can be carried as normal luggage, and it seems to me there's a considerable risk you'll end up having to pay full whack for a piece of conventional hold luggage and won't get a refund for your 'sports equipment':. Read the Q&As: If you check in fewer items of baggage than you had paid for, the baggage fee will not be refunded.

Check with the airline, and if they say it's OK get that in writing. 

Tom Guitarist 24 Jul 2023
In reply to New Max:

I'd genuinely rather not go on a trip than go on one that involved Wizz Air. The worst airline I've ever used by far.

freeflyer 24 Jul 2023
In reply to New Max: