UKC

Ankle Ligament Surgery

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RdC 06 Jul 2023

Hello, wondering if anyone has had ankle ligament surgery in the past. Got ATFL ligament surgery 10 weeks ago and getting burning pain at the ankle joint (same burning pain pre-op) so not sure if this is normal burning from the operation or the operation hasn't cleared up the initial problem. Just wondering what anyones post rehab pains were?   

Post edited at 16:38
 girlymonkey 06 Jul 2023
In reply to RdC:

I had my ankle ligaments reconstructed a very long time ago (around 20 years ago). 

Did they remove any scar tissue build up when they did yours? They shaved my scar tissue out as they said that was one of the main things causing the pain. 

I seem to remember rehab to normal -ish levels of activity being about 2 months, but I was 21 so you would expect it to be quick. 

20 years later, I trail run, climb, ski etc. I work as a walking guide and outdoor instructor and the ankle is perfect 

OP RdC 06 Jul 2023
In reply to girlymonkey:

Cheers Girlmonkey. Yes, the did debridement of tissue and shaved some bone growths. Hopefully it settles down soon!!!

Jim B 06 Jul 2023
In reply to RdC:

The Brostrum repair works very well , allowing full return to sport.

Did the burning go away after the op and then return? Has it never changed?

Could be nerve irritation, bone bruising...many things. You need to raise it with the surgeon or your physio. If this was all done via the NHS it may take some time to talk to anyone, but the surgeon is the best person to ask, he was inside your ankle so should know what was damaged and give you input on healing times.