UKC

Finding tide times for next month

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 girlymonkey 10 Nov 2023

I'm a fairly newbie sea kayaker and trying to plan a Christmas paddle for next month. We want to go in the dark so all our Christmas lights will be visible and we want high tide so we can get right up to Lochgilphead. 

Normally, I just Google "Tide Times Lochgilphead" and link comes for a few sites. However, they all only seem to list the next few days. The longest I found was to the end of November. 

Where can I find tide times for Mid December? Presumably they are very predictable so they must have them published somewhere?

Bottom Clinger 10 Nov 2023
In reply to girlymonkey:

Just add 25 minutes onto each high tide. 

Derry 10 Nov 2023
In reply to Bottom Clinger:

more like 50 minutes. however depending on location, a double high or low can affect this drastically so I wouldn't just add on for a month. @girlmonkey this site gives you about a months worth https://www.tide-forecast.com/locations/Poole/tides/latest

Post edited at 16:30
 deepsoup 10 Nov 2023
In reply to girlymonkey:

Do you have an Android phone?  If so, there's an app called simply 'Tides'.  It doesn't have Lochgilphead as a spot but does have Tarbet or rather "East Loch Tarbert (Loch Fyne)", which should be near enough.

The tides are v predictable, but the algorithms used to predict them are proprietary and tide times more than a week or so in advance tend to be a subscription thing.

For getting a rough guide into the future though, high water in a specific place is generally always roughly the same time of day at a given phase of the moon.  So if you want to know what time high water is six days after new moon some time next year, it'll be more or less the same time as it was six days after new moon last week, or next week, etc.