UKC

Mold exposure symptoms/treatment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 magma 20 Oct 2023

A friend is very poorly with nausea/vomiting etc after picking the last (moldy) toms in a neglected polytunnel. I'm thinking this is due to mycotoxins rather than my cooking?

Has anyone else had confirmed mold issues? or can recommend natural treatments (charcoal and garlic good apparently)?

The Potato 20 Oct 2023
In reply to magma:

My understanding is that in a healthy person it's not an issue, there's mold around us all the time

OP magma 20 Oct 2023
In reply to The Potato:

not heavy exposure like this tho..

think i got sick once from mold growing from a little used tap outlet..

In reply to magma:

As a nurse I've had to treat children with suspected infections of this kind. Definitely see your GP, today!

OP magma 20 Oct 2023
In reply to Deleated bagger:

that's what i suggested but her doctor in england and we're in wales

hang_about 20 Oct 2023
In reply to magma:

If your friend is that poorly, they should see a GP now as suggested above. It might get better - or it might get worse. It could be simple irritation, a mycotoxin, an allergic response or an infection. Act now...

<edit>

then go to A&E

Post edited at 15:53
OP magma 20 Oct 2023
In reply to hang_about:

thanks, will certainly press her to see GP if no improvement by tomorrow.

gethin_allen 20 Oct 2023
In reply to The Potato:

> My understanding is that in a healthy person it's not an issue, there's mold around us all the time