UKC

What are your favourite pet-hate landscape clichés?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 markryle 30 Nov 2023

As a novice, I was about to post my first landscape, when I chanced to read my first thread, “International Landscape Photographer of the Year” and learned to my shame that all my illuminated tents and moonlit landscapes  are cringeworthy clichés😱

Have some pity on solo campers please,  sometimes the tent is the only foreground interest there is and they are very drab when the light fades...

What are the other faux-pas that make you cringe please!?

Please don’t say sunset, sunrise, full moonset/rise, or I won’t have  much left.

When you’re brutally honest, the crescent moon, blue hour and golden hour are all clichés too, then I’ve really got nothing left😞

Jon Read 30 Nov 2023
In reply to markryle:

That bloody mountain in Iceland* with the stream in front of it.

* or the one next to the A82.

dread-i 30 Nov 2023
In reply to markryle:

Photos are about capturing the moment. If that moment means something to you, then fsck what anyone else thinks. If it means something to others as well, so much the better.

Those cliches you mention, sell millions of pounds worth of pics and posters per year. So is that a failure? I expect they are crying all the way to the bank about their lack of creativity.

If you want a brutal critique, not just on composition but also technique, then there are some flickr groups dedicated to that. If not, post and be dammed. Some people will like them, other wont. That's life, in a nutshell.

graeme jackson 30 Nov 2023
In reply to markryle:

Those ones of a tree in a dip with a bit of old wall alongside. Luckily we'll not be seeing many more of those. 

Fat Bumbly 2.0 30 Nov 2023
In reply to markryle:

Blurred water - appreciate however that ravines with waterfalls in them may not always be the best lit of places.

65 30 Nov 2023
In reply to markryle: