UKC

I am making a modular hangboard for my university final year project

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bendo 12 Jan 2023

Hi all, Im a final year student doing product design and for my major project i am designing a modular hangboard that is suitable to be mounted within a temporary residence. I would really appeaciate a few mins of your time to complete my survey. Thanks!

https://forms.office.com/e/y7RWQXrBEB

plyometrics 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo:

Done. Be very interested for you to share your final design when it’s ready. 

Best of luck. 

Simon Pelly 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo:

Done

Martin Hore 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo:

Done.

It wouldn't let me omit the question on bouldering grades. But I don't boulder! So I had to put V1. In reality, when I do get on a bouldering wall (rarely) I don't seem to get above V0.

I'm currently at 6a+ on proper climbing walls and HVS on real rock!

Martin

ArcherCampbell 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo:

done! sounds like a great project

Max factor 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo:

>mounted within a temporary residence.

Done.

Are there any commerically availabe products for this already? When I rented I took a drill and hammer to the ceiling and joists above, and as a homeowner my first attempt to mount a board into Victorian lathe and plaster had predictable consequences! I have now bodged something using a door mounted pull-up bar and some plywood which works Ok but took no little effort.  

john arran 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Max factor:

This is what I came up with 20 years ago, to help me through a 4-month contract away from home.
Worked surprisingly well and could be mounted/unmounted in just a few seconds.
I later considered making one where the holds were attached to the nodes of a concertina-type trellis, which would make it more portable, but I never got around to making one of those.

Post edited at 15:40

Derek Furze 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Bendo: