UKC

Please give me some feedback for my modular hangboard.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bendo 20 Apr 2023

I am a final year university student who made a modular hangboard, which hooks onto a doorframe, making it suitable for those living in a temporary residence. The hangboard includes:

1) an underside hangboard, with holds like pinch blocks (but this can be developed for other grip types too). 

2) Modular grips that easily slot in and out of place. 

3) Loops to clip equipment too, such as a pulley. 

4) The travel hangboard can be slotted onto the front of the hangboard, and also taken off for outdoor use. 

5) Real rock grips, which include either a sandstone or granite veneer, which is useful for skin conditioning and preparing for outdoor climbing. Especially if you live somewhere not near a crag. 

I would much appreciate any feedback, positive, negative, or any improvements. 

The photos are on this google drive, it should be public for anyone to see. It includes some real photos and CAD Renders. The physical model looks different to the renders due to timeframe and lack of resources, but it still shows the same functionality. Thanks very much.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/BR1i8wkmDhwaEPmGA

tew 20 Apr 2023
In reply to Bendo:

It looks good. The only thing I think that's missing is a pull up bar.

What max weight testing have you done on it? Is that limited by the door architrave?

Best of luck 

Derek Furze 20 Apr 2023
In reply to Bendo:

A good bit of design in my view, particularly for people with not many option.  I use a standard fingerboard, but would definitely consider a modular option.  Good stuff.

OP Bendo 20 Apr 2023

In reply to Stob Dearg: