UKC

Helping build little children's confidence

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 VEGMC 02 Jan 2023

Hello and happy new year!

My husband and I have been climbing for many years and (nothing great, just in the 6b region typically), pretty much stopped for a couple of years when we became a family of 3. We've been back to climbing as a family with our now 5 year old who has been in a class since she turned 4. This is mostly to allow us to get a full session where we don't have to supervise while she can enjoy an intro with an instructor (she loves having "teachers"!) and peers.

She does enjoy it but has recently lost her confidence and is terrified to climb higher than a couple of meters. Interestingly, at rope climbing they did some blindfold climbs as a trust exercise where peers tell the climber where to place hands/legs and she went all the way up till she peeked and panicked!

Our current plan is to keep going with it and give her the time and space to do as much as she is confident with (and her instructor does the same), but I do wonder if there is anything we could do to help her? Needless to say in playgrounds she scales the highest rope structures without second thoughts even though there's just wood chips 4 meters under her feet!

Many thanks in advance!

E

robert-hutton 02 Jan 2023
In reply to VEGMC:

Think you already have the answer, "time and space", with fun and a little encouragement.

leland stamper 02 Jan 2023
In reply to VEGMC:

I think robert-hutton is right but....

I notice you have only just joined UKC. You may want to have a look at this thread concerning a parent(also new to UKC) of a 6 year old from last week. Not all of it is pleasant reading, but it is what you may have to face up to if you want to carry on with any structured climbing for your child.

https://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/walls+training/grades_by_age-755101

Happy New Year

Neil Williams 02 Jan 2023
In reply to VEGMC: